God’s Free Gift

For the wages of sin is death; but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. 

Romans 6:23 AMP

Consequences of Disobedience

Have you ever had a friend that was forced to be your friend? Or were you the one who was forced? Most of the time, this happens among children. Parents who have a long history but have children that don’t get along, at times, will try to get their children to see what they see.

I have no qualms about that, and children often end up growing into friends. The difference lies here: forced friendship is meaningless and can feel like a chore, while true friends have a deep connection and legitimately care for each other.

God doesn’t force our love; he has given us a choice to follow him freely. Of course, as the Creator of all things, he didn’t need to provide us with this choice, but love by choice leads to a deeper and more meaningful relationship, and that’s what God wants with each of us. He wants to love, protect, guide, and bless us. God wants to be with us.

However, a revised version of what Peter Parker’s uncle would say, “We are responsible for the consequences of our choices.” John 3:20 says evil hates the light. Knowing that there are consequences isn’t something to be scared, upset, or angry about; we mustn’t let Satan trick us into believing that we should be mad over the consequences. There’s no hidden agenda–We have a choice, and we know the results.

God doesn’t force our love; he has given us a choice to follow him freely.

God wants to forgive us. He wants to share his mercy and grace with those who accept his free gift of life. Sometimes our perspectives can twist our image of God, especially if we don’t know him very well.

When I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, Jesus renewed my life, but I also had to live out my new life. This took work because a lifetime of habits and a corroded mindset needed changing. However, Jesus knew all of my shortcomings before going to the cross. He knew I would mess up even after proclaiming that I would follow him for the rest of my days.

Condemnation, the reminder of our faults and the constant nagging that we will never be good enough, doesn’t come from God. But, on the other hand, conviction, or the pressing to change and alert that what we’re doing isn’t right, comes from God.

The bottom line: We have the choice to choose God, and that leads to forgiveness, mercy, grace, and an eternity with Jesus (the one who loves you most). Or, we can deny him and go to hell. Again, we get to choose.

Jesus’ Payment

There is value in your life. Jesus gave his own life, a blameless one, for you. Not because of your talents, treasures, or perfections but because he loves you. There is a cost to everything, and Jesus paid for our sins.

I wondered why Jesus would pay for our sins and did a study on the Old Testament. I was surprised by how many times man turned away from God and couldn’t say anything against them since I have my fair share of wrongs. But, we can’t do it alone.

History and the present show that we are easily misled. Jesus knew this and stepped in. I appreciate God’s process. God follows the rules he set and doesn’t tell us to obey where he hadn’t already obeyed.

Again, you are valuable. No matter how much you try to say otherwise, God formed and knew you at every stage of your life (even what hasn’t happened yet). He loves you dearly. If you have accepted his gift of eternal life, then continue to seek him and ask him to reveal himself to you. Build your faith by trusting him. Pray for an extra minute each day and give God time to speak back to you rather than ending it with “Amen.”

If you haven’t accepted Jesus, you can do so right now.

  • Admit to God that you are a sinner.
  • Believe that Jesus is the Son of God, died for your sins, and rose again.
  • Confess your sins to Jesus and ask that he forgive you.

Life won’t suddenly become easier; Satan will be angry and try to distract you from living a blessed life. But, where you walked a path blindly before, you now have Jesus. So lean on him and let him guide you. Spoiler alert: He will.

Prayer

Lord, help me accept that I don’t understand everything. Remind me amid my fears that you are greater and have already won. Thank you, Jesus, for the free gift of eternal life with you and for forgiving me before I knew you. I confess my wrongs and ask for your forgiveness. I want to be closer with you and to see people how you see them. I want to see me as you see me, Lord. Guide me to a place where my strength comes from you and that pride, fear, anger, and hate can’t step on the ground around me because your light shines so brightly within me. In Jesus’ Victorious Name, Amen.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started